The everyday essentials
Official services, practical references and a place to compare your grocery basket.
Published 21 Oct 2026 · 7:36 pm Cayman
reference · West Bay
DEH Monday collection referenceRead notice
West Bay and West Bay Road.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
Evergreen DEH area schedule, not a guaranteed next pickup. Put waste out the night before; Grand Cayman crews start at 3 am. Verify changes with DEH.
Eligibility & evidence
Eligibility is stated on the source page.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:32 pm Cayman
DEH residential waste collection
Official source
Read official guidance
reference · George Town
DEH Tuesday collection referenceRead notice
South Church Street, Walkers Road, Smith Road, Templeton Pine Lake, Shedden Road, North Sound Road, Industrial Park, Breezy Way, Eastern Avenue, Mary’s Street, Rock Hole and side roads.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
Evergreen DEH area schedule, not a guaranteed next pickup. Put waste out the night before; Grand Cayman crews start at 3 am. Verify changes with DEH.
Eligibility & evidence
Eligibility is stated on the source page.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:32 pm Cayman
DEH residential waste collection
Official source
Read official guidance
reference · George Town
DEH Wednesday collection referenceRead notice
Windsor Park, South Sound, Crewe Road, Bobby Thompson Way, Half Way Pond, Randyke Gardens, Prospect Point Road, Prospect and Patrick Island.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
Evergreen DEH area schedule, not a guaranteed next pickup. Put waste out the night before; Grand Cayman crews start at 3 am. Verify changes with DEH.
Eligibility & evidence
Eligibility is stated on the source page.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:32 pm Cayman
DEH residential waste collection
Official source
Read official guidance
reference · Grand Cayman, Bodden Town
DEH Thursday collection referenceRead notice
Shamrock Road/Prospect Point Road junction to Will T Drive, including Savannah, Newlands and homes off the East West Arterial.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
Evergreen DEH area schedule, not a guaranteed next pickup. Put waste out the night before; Grand Cayman crews start at 3 am. Verify changes with DEH.
Eligibility & evidence
Eligibility is stated on the source page.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:32 pm Cayman
DEH residential waste collection
Official source
Read official guidance
reference · Grand Cayman, Bodden Town, North Side, East End
DEH Friday collection referenceRead notice
Will T Drive eastward, including Northward, Bodden Town, North Side, East End and side roads.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
Evergreen DEH area schedule, not a guaranteed next pickup. Put waste out the night before; Grand Cayman crews start at 3 am. Verify changes with DEH.
Eligibility & evidence
Eligibility is stated on the source page.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:32 pm Cayman
DEH residential waste collection
Official source
Read official guidance
reference · Cayman Brac
Cayman Brac collection referenceRead notice
DEH publishes separate weekday routes for West End, Spot Bay, the Bluff and South Side.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
Check the exact street route in the official schedule; collection starts at 5 am. This is not a new dated collection announcement.
Eligibility & evidence
Eligibility is stated on the source page.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:32 pm Cayman
DEH residential waste collection
Official source
Read official guidance
reference · Little Cayman
Little Cayman collection referenceRead notice
The DEH schedule lists all locations on Monday and Wednesday.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
Evergreen schedule; Sister Islands collection starts at 5 am. Put waste out beforehand and confirm changes with DEH.
Eligibility & evidence
Eligibility is stated on the source page.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:32 pm Cayman
DEH residential waste collection
Official source
Read official guidance
needs review · All islands
Public holidays left this year: 9 November, 25 December and 28 DecemberRead notice
Remembrance Day is Monday 9 November. Christmas Day is Friday 25 December and Boxing Day is observed on Monday 28 December. Government offices close on public holidays.
- Starts / deadline
- 9 Nov 2026
- Ends
- 28 Dec 2026
The official 2026 list has no October public holiday. Check the Government list before treating another listing as an official holiday. The latest source check was unavailable; this is retained last-good information. Recheck the official source before acting.
Eligibility & evidence
Everyone.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 12 Oct 2026 · 7:35 am Cayman
GOV.KY: Public Holidays
Official source
Check details
active · All islands
Police: never share your six-digit WhatsApp codeRead notice
RCIPS says scammers are taking over local WhatsApp accounts by asking for the six-digit verification code, then messaging the owner's contacts for money. Turn on two-step verification, and call the person before sending money.
- Starts / deadline
- 1 Oct 2026
- Ends
- Not stated by source
The advice to call the person first is ordinary caution, not a quote from the release.
Eligibility & evidence
Everyone who uses WhatsApp.
Dated source references
Published: 1 Oct 2026
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:33 pm Cayman
Radio Cayman (Government): Police Warn of Ongoing WhatsApp Impersonation Scams
Official source
Read the police warning
needs review · All islands
Statistics Office interviewers are visiting about 2,000 homes: ask for the ESO ID cardRead notice
The Fall Labour Force and Quality of Life surveys began on Sunday 27 September. Trained interviewers carry Economics and Statistics Office ID cards. To check, call the ESO on 516-3329 or 949-0940.
- Starts / deadline
- 27 Sep 2026
- Ends
- Not stated by source
The notice gives no end date for fieldwork. The latest source check was unavailable; this is retained last-good information. Recheck the official source before acting.
Eligibility & evidence
About 2,000 randomly selected households.
Dated source references
Published: 1 Oct 2026
Checked: 12 Oct 2026 · 7:35 am Cayman
Radio Cayman (Government): Fall 2026 Labour Force Survey and Quality of Life Survey Starts Sunday
Official source
Read the survey notice
active · All islands
Driving licence fees changed on 1 September: discounts for longer licences, reduced fee at 65Read notice
Caymanians buying three-, five- and ten-year licences get 10%, 15% and 20% off. Customers aged 65 or older qualify for the reduced fee, including non-Caymanian seniors. Non-Caymanian full licence fees are about three times the Caymanian rate, down from the eight times first approved.
- Starts / deadline
- 1 Sep 2026
- Ends
- Not stated by source
If you think the wrong fee was applied, go to a DVDL office with your receipt and ID. The release gives ratios and discounts, not a full price list.
Eligibility & evidence
DVDL uses Government records to decide which fee applies. If it cannot verify you electronically, the transaction goes to manual verification: bring valid ID and supporting documents.
Documents to prepare
- Valid identification
- Supporting status documents if asked
Dated source references
Published: 1 Sep 2026
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:33 pm Cayman
Radio Cayman (Government): Revised DVDL Fee Structure Effective 1 September 2026
Official source
Read the fee notice
upcoming · Cayman Brac, Grand Cayman, Little Cayman
Pirates Week dates: Brac 30 to 31 October, Grand Cayman 6 to 14 November, Little Cayman 20 to 21 NovemberRead notice
The Minister reconfirmed the 2026 festival dates for all three islands. Road closures for the Grand Cayman events had not been published when this was checked.
- Starts / deadline
- 30 Oct 2026
- Ends
- 21 Nov 2026
Dates only. Event times, costs and road closures are not stated in this festival release; check current official event and police notices.
Eligibility & evidence
Everyone.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:34 pm Cayman
Radio Cayman (Government): Pirates Week 2026 Theme Revealed
Official source
Check details
reference · All islands
Importing a car? Model year eight years or older is prohibitedRead notice
Customs and Border Control reminded the public on 14 September that vehicles whose model year is eight years or older cannot be imported, subject to listed exemptions. It asks buyers to check before purchasing as the end of the year approaches.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
Exemptions are in Section 4A(2) of the Prohibited Goods Order; the release does not list them. Ask CBC before you buy.
Eligibility & evidence
Anyone buying a vehicle overseas to bring into Cayman.
Dated source references
Published: 14 Sep 2026
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:34 pm Cayman
Radio Cayman (Government): CBC Reminds Public of Vehicle Import Restrictions
Official source
Read the Customs reminder
active · All islands
New rules for bringing dogs and cats into Cayman took effect 1 OctoberRead notice
The Department of Agriculture revised the conditions for importing dogs and cats. If you travel with a pet or plan to bring one in, check the new requirements first. Contact the Department on 947-3090.
- Starts / deadline
- 1 Oct 2026
- Ends
- Not stated by source
This entry does not summarise the individual requirements. Read the advisory or ask the Department.
Eligibility & evidence
Anyone bringing a dog or cat into the Cayman Islands.
Dated source references
Published: 22 Sep 2026
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:34 pm Cayman
Radio Cayman (Government): Department of Agriculture advisory on importation conditions for dogs and cats
Official source
Read the advisory
reference · All islands
Government schools: no personal phones during the school dayRead notice
The Ministry of Education published its Mobile Phone (Safe School) Policy on 28 September. In all government schools, students may not use personal mobile phones or other connected devices during the school day, with listed exceptions.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
The exceptions are in the policy itself and are not listed here.
Eligibility & evidence
Students at government schools.
Dated source references
Published: 28 Sep 2026
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:34 pm Cayman
Radio Cayman (Government): MoET Publishes Mobile Phone Policy
Official source
Read the policy notice
needs review · All islands
Proposed: work permit vacancies would no longer have to be advertised in a newspaperRead notice
The Minister for Caymanian Employment and Immigration told Parliament on 2 October he intends to change work permit advertising rules. Under the proposal, employers would continue to advertise vacancies on the WORC Jobs Portal for at least 21 days before applying for a permit; the local-newspaper requirement would go.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
A stated proposal, not a rule in force. The release says approval by Caucus and Cabinet is still required; no commencement date is given.
Eligibility & evidence
Job seekers and employers.
Dated source references
Published: 2 Oct 2026
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:34 pm Cayman
Radio Cayman (Government): Minister Signals Proposed Changes to Work Permit Advertising Requirements
Official source
Check details
active · All islands
Water Authority rates went up 3% from 1 JulyRead notice
The first base-price change in seven years. For Grand Cayman homes, the first 12 cubic metres a month (about 3,200 US gallons) went from $4.34 to $4.47 per cubic metre.
- Starts / deadline
- 1 Jul 2026
- Ends
- Not stated by source
The figure quoted is for the first consumption band in Grand Cayman only. Other bands and the Sister Islands are in the notice.
Eligibility & evidence
Water Authority customers.
Dated source references
Published: 3 Jun 2026
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:34 pm Cayman
Water Authority-Cayman: Water Authority Announces Base Price Adjustment
Official source
Read the rate notice
reference · All islands
Financial assistance decisions: ask for reconsideration within 21 working daysRead notice
A person unhappy with a Department of Financial Assistance decision must first seek reconsideration within 21 working days after notice. If still unhappy, or DFA declines to reconsider, an appeal can follow within 28 working days after that decision is communicated.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
The release explains appeal deadlines, not financial-assistance eligibility. It directs applicants to Tribunal forms and procedures; check the applicable dates promptly. The latest source check was unavailable; this is retained last-good information. Recheck the official source before acting.
Eligibility & evidence
Applicants and recipients dissatisfied with a Department of Financial Assistance decision.
Dated source references
Published: 1 Oct 2026
Checked: 12 Oct 2026 · 7:36 am Cayman
GOV.KY: Minister and Financial Assistance Appeals Tribunal Discuss Fair, Accessible Appeals
Official source
Check details
reference · All islands
Water cut for non-payment? Clear the balance and a $25 reconnection chargeRead notice
The Water Authority says customers whose service was interrupted for non-payment must pay all outstanding service charges before restoration, plus a $25 reconnection charge.
- Starts / deadline
- Not stated by source
- Ends
- Not stated by source
The page does not say when this charge last changed. It says customers who cannot pay in full before the due date should contact Customer Service.
Eligibility & evidence
Water Authority customers whose service was interrupted due to non-payment.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:32 pm Cayman
Water Authority Cayman: Services Interruption
Official source
Check details
reference · All islands
Immigration law transition: existing permits and earlier applications get protectionRead notice
Immigration amendments took effect on 1 May 2026. Applications and appeals already submitted remain under the law then in force; valid work permits remain effective until expiry, and new eligibility requirements and timelines do not apply to people who already hold valid permissions or status.
- Starts / deadline
- 1 May 2026
- Ends
- Not stated by source
This item covers transitional arrangements for existing permissions and pre-commencement applications and appeals; it does not describe the full set of new permit requirements.
Eligibility & evidence
People with valid immigration permissions or status, and people whose applications or appeals were submitted before 1 May 2026.
Dated source references
Published: Not stated by source
Checked: 21 Oct 2026 · 7:34 pm Cayman
Ministry of Caymanian Employment and Immigration: Immigration Reform
Official source
Check details